Streetshooting the Olympus OM-DE-M1 By Robin Schimko


S-HUFF BlogAn interesting article on Steve Huffs Blog on Robin Schimko uses the Olympus OM-D E-M1 for street photography.

Here is the link

“The last couple of years I was shooting DSLR full frame bodies only and I didn’t care much about mirrorless cameras. After a while I realized that taking candid pictures out on the streets is a lot of fun. The only problem was the bulkiness of my camera that seemed a little intimidating when people noticed me taking their picture. It would have been an easy solution just to step back a little and take a longer lens, but that’s not me since I like to get close. So I got myself a Fuji X100s but even though I really loved it, the AF frustrated me from time to time and I sold it.

Then I started researching about mFT cameras and that’s when I stumbled upon stevehuffphoto.com and I was blown away by his work. That’s why decided to jump into the Olympus system and I bought the E-P5. I was shocked about the super-fast AF system and the pretty good image quality. The only thing I was really missing was a proper grip and suddenly Olympus came out with their new flagship, the E-M1. A couple of weeks later my local camera store had the E-M1 in stock and I went there to try it out. I couldn’t resist and bought one. Usually I am not that guy who is changing his gear so rapidly but the mirrorless world was new to me and I had to find out what would work best for me.”

2 thoughts on “Streetshooting the Olympus OM-DE-M1 By Robin Schimko”

  1. I too have recently given up my Nikon D700 with the 24-120mm F4 lens for the OMD-EM1 with the 24-40mm f2.8 lens. When I get up close to take candid portraits on the street, it truly is much less intimidating than the full frame DSLR, and my hands are much less sore at the end of the day as well.

  2. I just recently bought the OMD-EM10 and love it. Coupled with the grip and the 24-40mm f/2.8 Pro lens, it is nothing short of phenomenal. I still shoot a NIkon D610 DSLR, but have it reserved for the commercial landscape/industrial work.

    If I have to shoot street scenes or people, I use the EM10. i also picked up the 45mm f/1.8 and it is great. Highly recommended.

    Frank Villafañe

Leave a Reply

