“Really Right Stuff” Grip for OMD E-M5


Image by travinh on Mu-43.com thread on Grips
Image by travinh on Mu-43.com thread on Grips

Really Right Stuff Grip for the Olympus OMD E-M5

Here is another grip for the Olympus OMD E-M5, this makes a total of 4 grips available including the Olympus Grip.

This is a Modular Grip, That is, you buy the parts you need. It has a base Plate as the starting point (part BOEM5), then it has a Grip (BOEM5-G) for the basic Grip/Plate combo. It also has a L-Plate (BOEM5-L) for mounting in a portrait mode on a Tripod.

From the Maker via a followers question about access to the USB Port with the “L Bracket” in place:

In landscape orientation you’ll have full access to that USB Port. When mounted in portrait, or vertical orientation, you wouldn’t be able to center the camera in your clamp (which is completely safe if you’re using a RRS clamp and it will have a no slip rating of roughly 50 lbs). Hanging the camera off the side of the clamp is completely fine.

However if you do wish to center the camera in the clamp while mounted in vertical orientation I would recommend the CRS Cable Relief Spacer:

11 thoughts on ““Really Right Stuff” Grip for OMD E-M5”

    1. I emailed them and will wait for a reply.
      It does state on their site that is does have a Left/Right Dovetail movement.
      So I guess that means it is adjustable to be flush to the body or slightly distanced from the body by a few mm’s or so. which is what your asking.

      1. Go to their website. It shows that the L plate has a slot which looks like it is intended to give access to the USB port. When I bought my OM-D (the first one in So.Cal) there was only one grip and that was the very expensive Olympus grip.I bought it and I never use the camera without it.If I didn’t have one, I would certainly consider this one as it is cheaper and RRS makes quality products.

  1. This grip is not cheap–it’s coming within $100 of the Olympus grip. At that point, I’d seriously consider ponying up the extra $$$ to get the official grip and all the other benefits. I’m perfectly happy with my (inexpensive) JB Camera Grip for my E-M5.

    1. Amazing! Camera costs $1200 plus a couple of accessories including 1-2 lens setups and people would purchase an inferior handle if it costs $100 less than the perfect Olympus unit

      I suppose they drive their Porsche Carrera
      In the summer with snow tires!!

      The grip makes the difference and makes the camera function. Olympus bean counters kept basic cost down but recognized the “Porsche needs tires”

      Just Do it!!

      1. I agree that the grip makes a world of difference to the E-M5 and I highly recommend every E-M5 owner get one. My analogy is this: I want a Lexus, but I can get a fully loaded Toyota that’s almost as good for a couple of thousand less. Some might go for the Toyota, but I’d suck it up and spring for the extra couple of grand for the Lexus if I’m that close. This grip is about quadruple the cost of the JB grip and within hailing distance of the Olympus one.

  2. I’ve been a great fan of Really Right Stuff for a number of years this is the first product I’ve not liked. Having both the Olympus and RRS hand grips I find the Olympus much more comfortable. With the RRS your first fingers on the shutter release, your second finger sits on top of the grip to allow your third finger to sit in the shaped section of the grip, it feels a very strange way to hold a camera.

  3. Here is my reply from the make regarding access to the USB port with the “L Bracket” in place.

    “Thanks for following up, Peter.
    In landscape orientation you’ll have full access to that USB Port. When mounted in portrait, or vertical orientation, you wouldn’t be able to center the camera in your clamp (which is completely safe if you’re using a RRS clamp and it will have a no slip rating of roughly 50 lbs). Hanging the camera off the side of the clamp is completely fine.
    However if you do wish to center the camera in the clamp while mounted in vertical orientation I would recommend the CRS Cable Relief Spacer:
    I hope this helps. Please let me know if you ever need help in the future.

    Happy shooting,

    Mark Gvazdinskas

    Really Right Stuff, LLC

    Call 805.528.6321 or toll free from the US and Canada 888.777.5557 fax 805.528.7964

    1146 Farmhouse Ln

    San Luis Obispo, CA 93401

    Visit our web site at http://www.reallyrightstuff.com/

Leave a Reply

