My early days out as Street Photographer.


These are my early days LOL

I am new at Street Photography, I started about a year ago when I had a acquired a Contax G1 with a CZ G 45mm f/2 film Camera. I really though this would make a great Street Camera. But, the VF was a bit small and hard for me center my eye on. The AF wasn’t a problem, I used MF with SP anyway, The G1 has DOF scale on the manual focus wheel, the G2 does not. I like to use 400 film also. But, I rate from 200 – 320, depending on the brand. I also develop it in HC110 B.  But, early on I used Xtol and Rodinal.

Contax G1, Carl Zeiss G 45mm f/2, Fuji Neopan 400, Rodinal 1:50
Contax G1, Carl Zeiss G 45mm f/2, Fuji Neopan 400, Rodinal 1:50

At first, I was a little shy aiming my camera at a stranger. But, as time moves on, you ignore that, and considerate on capturing people just doing what people do. One thing that is sure, a wide angle lens is a friend with Street Photography. It allows a wide field, and has a forgiveness in focusing. And you can shoot from the hip if you want, and  with a little practice, you can do quite well.

Contax G1, CZ G 45mm f/2, Fuji Neopan 400, Rodinal 1:50
Contax G1, CZ G 45mm f/2, Fuji Neopan 400, Rodinal 1:50
Contax G1, CZ G 45mm f/2, Fuji Neopan 400, Rodinal 1:50
Contax G1, CZ G 45mm f/2, Fuji Neopan 400, Rodinal 1:50
Contax G1, CZ G 45mm f/2, Legacy Pro 100.
Contax G1, CZ G 45mm f/2, Legacy Pro 100.
Leica M5, Voigtlander 28mm f/1.9 ASPH
Leica M5, Voigtlander Nokton 28mm f/1.9 ASPH

Today, I have 2 main cameras. For Digital, I have an Olympus OMD E-M5 that I use with a Panasonic G 14mm f/2.5 ASPH, or a Panasonic G 20mm f/1.7 ASPH. Mostly I have the 14mm on the camera (A 28mm field of view compared to a 35mm Full Frame camera). The other camera I have is a Film camera: A Nikon FE. (Manual or Aperture Priority) that I use a Nikon 24mm f/2.8 Ais or a Nikon 50mm f/1.8 Ais Long Nose. But, the 24mm stays on it most of the time. I like Wide !!! for Street Photography.

Man with Cigar

Bus Stop

I hope you enjoyed these samples. More can be seen at my Street Photography FaceBook Page gallery.

And I have Google Plus Community that allows a better organized discussion than FB does.  Street Photography by Peter Arbib

Leave a Reply

