THEME: Wood, Need an Idea?


How many days a year do you have no idea of what to photograph as an enthusiast?  You know, you haven’t been out with your camera for  few a weeks, you just can’t seem to get into your normal subjects, you feel like you need a photography fix… Right?

We all have been there. I know I have, and not just a few times either.  One of the best ways I have found to get over this drought of ideas, is to find a “Theme” and just photograph stuff related to it. There are many many themes to pick from..  a few sample ideas:

  • Wood
  • Textures
  • Patterns
  • Wet Leaves
  • Spider Webs
  • Dogs
  • Cats
  • Hats
  • Feet
  • Things RED (or any main color)
  • People reading in public
  • Doors
  • Old Barns
  • Stairs
  • People on Cell Phones

Just to name a few from the top of my head. As you can see, this theme is WOOD, any subject that has wood in it. It was a foggy day, and the light in some areas of the park was fantastic. I just walked around and got lost in the more wooded areas, and in some not so wooded areas.

So, the next time you don’t know what you want to photograph… Pick a theme. They can always be added on to in the future, and you may be surprised on how many ways you approach this type of project over time.

 

 

4 thoughts on “THEME: Wood, Need an Idea?”

    1. That depends on the subject..But, since 80% of my stuff is Landscape/Urban/Nature or Street Photography. 14mm or 20mm, and the 14-42 Oly MkI on the EM5, Street on my Nikon FE: Nikon 24mm AiS, and Nikon 50mm f1.8 AiS. Then Birds/Zoo, Nikon 100-300 f/5.6 AiS on my EM5. I have a stable of other lenses

      1. Good to know.
        When I shot film it was with a Canon Elan and a 50 mm 1.4 and later I added a 28 – 135. Great set up but much to big and heavy over time. I loved the size of my EPL1 and now the magic of the OMd. I also love that you do this blog in addition to seeing you on mu-43. I would like to have two or maybe three really bright, fast, weather proof lens that are what I use most of the time.

        Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

