What I am learning with Street Photography


For me, Street Photography is a therapy. It allows me to stop thinking about my troubles, and concentrate on capturing other peoples emotions and goings on. It helps me focus on the NOW, and not the past. When we are too wrapped in our-self, or our own life’s issues, the best thing to do is to change what we are thinking. That is easy, really, it is just a thought away. But, keeping that new thought at the top is the challenge we have. The answer is to do something that can coordinate our thoughts with our actions. For me, I grab one of my cameras and head downtown. By walking the streets of Downtown Indianapolis, I start to become a part of street, that is, I act like these are my home town streets I grew on, and observe what everyone is doing. It doesn’t take long to totally forget whatever was bugging me, and get intrenched in the others around me. This helps me become more sensitive to the others, and see an opportunity to capture moments of the people around me.

You see, in these photos you see other people thinking about their own issues, we are not alone with personal issues. I guess, seeing others handling their issues helps us have a bit of empathy and understanding, and hopefully, our photographs, reflect this. That makes a great Street Photograph.

“Seeing is not enough; you have to feel what you photograph” – Andre Kertesz

Another thing that happens is that I meet new people, even if only for a passing moment. I do engage with some of the people I have just photographed (never before I have photographed). This is an important part of Street Photography to me. It helps me become “One” with the Street, if you know what I mean. “A good Street Photographer will be become invisible to others. That means you are not drawing attention to yourself. You don’t wear loud cloths, and act crazy and load. You don’t stalk people. You respect others space, you blend in. You are the Street”, my quote 😉

You may noticed I have many of my subjects off center, I tried face detection, but, it isn’t fast enough for Street Photography. I use the touch screen LCD more and more with Street Photography. It is fast, and accurate because YOU determine what the camera will focus on. AND, you can adjust the size if AF spot to be very small if you want. Placing a subject off center helps make a better  composition in most cases.

Hope you enjoyed this post. Photography can be very therapeutic.

Related Articles:

9 thoughts on “What I am learning with Street Photography”

  1. An interesting though on street photography.

    Question about using the touch screen, if I may ask. When you use it, do you have the camera at eye level? I’m assuming the way you hold the camera shooting that way will be different than when using the EVF?

    1. Typically I hold it between waist level and neck level. The LCD is at a 45 degree angle, so my finger doesn’t effect the “Auto-Eye” switch most of the time. I also cradle the camera by placing the lens/body bottom in my palm, but not squeezing the focus ring. (I have AF+MF “OFF)

  2. interesting post! im a fan of the camera you’re using as well, btw 🙂 and thanks for sharing my recent post, appreciate it. street photography is something im extremely passionate about, and it’s great to see others like myself keeping it alive!

  3. Excellent article. I think some take it too seriously. Tthis was put in a way not to scare people. Personally I like shooting in tourist areas.

Leave a Reply

