Panoramas can add a new perspective!


Over the many months I have seen many “City Scape” Panoramas, from all over the world (on the internet of course). Now, for many of us that live in flat areas of the earth, taking a panorama from a mountain or hill side is out of the question. And many cities don’t do well with panoramas at ground/street level either. Living near Indianapolis, Indiana, the only way to get a Panoramic City Scape is to get on top of a building. Not going to happen unless I am an owner or security. Fortunately, Indianapolis has a Monument about 10 stories or so with an Observation Room to see grand sweeping vistas of downtown Indianapolis.

I know that the OMD E-M5 has a scene mode that has a Panoramic selection that provides an on screen guide for framing each photo in the sequence. I did not use this for these panoramas. I just estimated a 3/4 of the frame to the next frame. I move from LEFT TO RIGHT.. and I use Microsoft ICE to stitch them together. Microsoft ICE can stitch multiple rows and columns together if need be. These are one raw left to right.

When you process your files, you need to sure you use the SAME editing settings… I use AfterShot Pro to process the RAW files, and it can save all the adjustments I made on one file, so I can “Paste” or apply those settings to the other files that will make up the Panoramic Photograph. This is very important, because you need the same color and contrast settings so you can’t see where they are stitched together, and you don’t want to see uneven sky colors across the panoramic either.

The main lens I use for panoramic photos is the Panasonic G 14mm f/2.5 ASPH. Though the Olympus 12mm f/2 and the Olympus 12-50mm will also make a good lens. Make sure you apply any lens distortion correction for you lens.  This will make stitching easier, and really make a huge difference in the perspective factor of your panorama photograph. I typically use 3-5 photos stitched together for my panoramic photos, I use 8-10 if I take two rows of 4 or 5 photos. I try not to go past 160 degrees view. The stitching can look too “fisheye” with too wide a view.

All 4 of these panorama photos gives you a 360 degree view of Downtown Indianapolis from a top the Monument Circle, Monument Observation Room. Not a huge City, but affords me a large enough city to practice my Street Photography. The main thing to watch in your separate photos is trying to keep  the horizontal and Vertical level, so your software can line them up properly as it stitches them together.

5 thoughts on “Panoramas can add a new perspective!”

Leave a Reply

