Olympus OMD E-M5 and Black and White


Today, for the fist time, with my E-M5, I shot JPGs and in B&W, using the in Camera B&W with a Yellow filter on.
I edited them CS4, basic Levels/Smart Sharpen/Contrast… and some with basic Curves.
I am impressed with the E-M5 JEGs, The B&W tones are good OOC, just a bit low on contrast. But, In camera settings don’t provide enough change. So, I add contrast in editing.

My day was to take my Son to get a haircut, in the next town over. Not a big town, a 3 light town, that still holds onto the old buildings, and revamps the exterior and widens the streets to modernize. The Business is called “Headquarters Barber”, and has been around for over 40 years. I started out taking a few buildings photos from my truck window, and ended in McDonald’s.

I picked my Panasonic G 20mm f/1.7 ASPH as my lens of choice. I also decided to use the built-in camera, yellow filter. A yellow filter is a very common contrast adding filter. The 20mm is a sharp lens at any f/stop, and has good contrast also. I also setup my Auto ISO between 200-800, So, I could change my f/stop for more depth of focus when needed.

I have my left arrow set for changing the focus point. Very convenient when using the LCD for composing while taking photos. That makes it much easier to have an “Off-Center” subject while maintaining the speed of taking of fast passing opportunities.

Enjoy (Click on the 1st photo to run the slide show)

2 thoughts on “Olympus OMD E-M5 and Black and White”

  1. I just bought the Olympus OM-D. I figured out how to use B&W but I would like it to be more accesable than to open up the menu and change mode. Do you know if it’s possible to get the option of B&W when you use the “art”-mode? Or any other way to make it more accessible. I would like to be able to swap back and forth without to much hassle.

  2. The Art Modes are what they are,,, you’d have to convert them to B/W later,
    except for:
    ART 5–Grainy Film with 2 options,
    ART 10, Dramatic Tone has a BW option

    Use the RIGHT 4way button to see the options after you have selected an ART filter,

Leave a Reply

