Photos Added 3-2012: My E-M5 and the Nikon 100-300mm f/5.6 AiS


NIKON 100-300MM F/5.6 AiS Samples on a Olympus OMD E-M5

The In Body Stabilization worked like a charm. I typically pick f/11 and just keep it there with long lenses, unless I encounter shady areas. I use Auto ISO also with long lenses in hopes to have a higher speed., unless the shutter is too slow, Then I manually set a higher ISO, as high as 3200 with a +3 or +6 EV to keep the shadow noise down.

This is more of a Photo Post.

Here is a set of Rural Morresville, Indiana. Taken with the Olympus OMD E-M5, I didn’t record the f/stops because, I used f/5.6 for the 1st one then f/11 for the rest. Mainly because I wasn’t wearing my ball cap that I use to help shield the EVF, It was very bright today.

Also I am using new software  for editing, Corel Aftershot Pro and CS4 for final tweaking, since with ASP I am still not adj the contrast and Sharpening correct. So excuse any misses in editing… I think they are close though.

300mm f/5.6
300mm f/11
100mm f/11
150mm f/11
300mm f/11
UPDATE: MORE PHOTOS

Last few added 6-3-2012…

4 thoughts on “Photos Added 3-2012: My E-M5 and the Nikon 100-300mm f/5.6 AiS”

  1. peter , i just picked i mint copy of this lens , the100-300mm 5.6nikkor in mint condition
    for 50 dollars with a hoya japan uv filter and HN-24 hood soe quick testing says its a very good lens , iwas wondering about what mag of macro it is capabablr of on m43, searching the internet for info on this lens led me here …..love your site

    1. This lens was (is) one of the best large zooms of it’s day. The Olympus OM 85-250, and the update OM 50-250 is the other one. These two are also in the same league in IQ across the board. Meaning at f/5.6 (Nikkor), or f/5 (OM), the IQ is where ALL the modern start a few stops down. SO, f/5.6 (f/5 OM) down to f/11 has very little change in LPPM from Center to Corner It improves a little at f/8
      I ordered a 58mm tele lens hood for mine (2″ deep I think)
      I paid $65 for mine, and it too was E+ condition.
      .
      The Mag. is 1:4 I think can only be engaged/did-engaged at 100mm.

Leave a Reply

