5-Way Axis “IBIS” in action


It has been awhile since I owned a camera with internal stabilization. So, when I got the Olympus E-M5, I was exited about this camera toting the “best” in camera stabilization around. I own 9 legacy lenses, 5 of which would benefit from IBIS. My 55mm Macro, 85mm f/1.8, 105mm f/2.8, 135mm f/2.8, 200mm f/3.5. I am writing this article on using the E-M5 IBIS, hand held so you can achieve results that where only possible by using a tripod. Of course, we had IBIS for quite a while, but, a refresher in “Pushing” the IBIS is always inspirational… I hope.

My journey ended up at park were many Wedding Photographers go for Engagement sessions, and for Senior and Family Portraits with Outdoor settings. There is a beautiful water fall under a canopy of large shade trees. That would be my test area for using the Olympus E-M5 hand held at slow shutter speeds, with the added bonus of getting a few “Flowing” water effect photos.

I set my camera up in “Aperture” priority mode, and the 1st photo was set to ISO 1000 to achieve fast shutter speed as my base image to compare to. Although, 1/160 was almost fast enough for complete motion stopping with the water… 1/320 or 1/500 would be better. The balance taken at ISO 200, and I varied the f/stop to achieve a slightly slower shutter speed from one photo to the next. I added a TEXT BOX in each photo to show what shutter speed was used according to the EXIF info.

Here are my results: Please click through on the images to view the enlarged versions.

BASE PHOTO
Base Photo: 1/160 second
1/20 of a second
1/13 of a second
1/8 of a second
1/4 of a second
1/3 of a second
1/2 of a second

I hope this has given you a little inspiration to try this, the next time using a slow shutter speed may add to the overall effect.

A bit of advice on your stance when using a slow shutter speed..

  • Spread your legs to be about 2-3 feet apart, one foot slightly in-front of the other
  • Keep your elbows against your ribs
  • Use an External EVF attachment if your camera does not have a built in EVF.
  • Hold the camera as any SLR type camera up to your eye.
  • Hold your breath just before and during the exposure
  • Having IBIS is not an excuse  for ignoring basic fundamental good stance practices.

Enjoy, and of course, this technique can be used with any camera that has IBIS.

One thought on “5-Way Axis “IBIS” in action”

Leave a Reply

