1st Real Attempt at Local Birding


I have been trying to learn how to photograph Birds at a feeding station. At first I tried being on my patio, and with a 200mm lens mounted on my E-M5. Being only about 30 feet away, was too far away, and the Digital 2x converter had too much degradation on the small birds. So, I brought out a chair and set it up 20 feet away, Still a bit to far, but much better. I used Auto-ISO in full manual mode, and f/11 and 1/160… Too slow, but, at ISO 2500, I did not want to go to ISO 3200. Because the birds where still fairly small. these crops are about 1/2 the file size. The Panasonic G 100-300 would work great.  I may find a 300mm Legacy though to save a few dollars.

My ISO was set for 200-2500. The EXIF is saved in the image after you enlarge it for 1st time.

I did use Noiseware Professional Plug-in to clean it a little. Although I do not eliminate all the noise, just enough to retain detail and smooth the noise a bit.

Here you go.

Olympus OMD E-M5, Vivitar 200mm f/3.5

 

Olympus OMD E-M5, Vivitar 200mm f/3.5

 

Olympus OMD E-M5, Vivitar 200mm f/3.5

 

Olympus OMD E-M5, Vivitar 200mm f/3.5

 

6 thoughts on “1st Real Attempt at Local Birding”

  1. When we lived in NC we would take a pine cone smear peanut butter on it and then roll it in bird seed;Tie a string to it and it was an instant hit with the birds. This might help attract more birds to your home.

    1. Great Idea, I have a tree 8 feet away from my living-room back door. I can use my Nikkor Q 135mm f/2.8 and stay inside…

    1. I am thinking about a Olympus OM 85-250 or 50-250 as my “Local” birding lens. Not for BIF, too short. But, I think the options are the Nikkor AiS 100-300, or one of the Olympus OM lenses for best Image at the long end. Seems like all the AF varieties stink above 200 and all need f/11 to get better in the corners.

Leave a Reply

