Don’t “Dis” the Kit Lens


One of my first m4/3 lenses was the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm ED MkI. I have only bought two other m4/3 lenses since, the Panasonic G 14mm f/2.5 ASPH, and the Panasonic G 20mm f/1.7 ASPH. I use the “Kit Zoom” often, and I don’t have a concern that it won’t deliver. It does deliver. It may not be “as sharp” as the primes I own, but it is plenty sharp for a ton of subjects. I have used this lens in the studio, outside for landscapes, and portraits of my Son.

 

DON’T “DIS” THE KIT LENS

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

 

DON’T “DIS” THE KIT LENS

 

Taken with the Olympus M Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 ED MkI (Original with E-P1)

12 thoughts on “Don’t “Dis” the Kit Lens”

    1. I don’t post OOC unless I comparing images. I do what is needed to present the image in it’s best light. With the E-M5, many files are “Near”, but not perfect, Plus, the lens has a lot to do with original IQ before any editing.(Many adapted lenses are typically lower in contrast). I also shot RAW, so even an OOC RAW Conversion will need some adjustments as a JPG, When you print/post an image. the print/post is the Final display for the Public to see. So, it should represent your best editing. I know plenty of people who think that OOC should be enough, but, that may be because they don’t how to adjust in an editing program, or, they may be a “Purest”, Regardless, Shooting JPGs will still need some tweaking in post. RAW definitely does. BUT, if the lens isn’t sharp to begin with, Editing won’t help.

      1. I would much prefer, that it was straight out of the camera with standard settings, because we all have different ways of editing a photo ( I PP a lot), and then I could better judge – now I do not know if the lens is for me or not .

        I have just ordered the camera, only house, but I can change that to an order with the kit-lens, because there is about 14 days untill it is in stock, but with the kit-lens it is allready in stock. At the same time I have ordered the Oly 45mm f/1.8 and the Panasonic 20mm f/1.7 – also in stock, so there you are ;);)

      2. I don’t do much, Basic levels, Saturation, USM sharpening, and Contrast are typical adjustments I do, I tend to under edit, I can tell you though, the E-M5 OOC JPGs are 90% perfect. I do have the Color adjusted to be “+ 2/A on the SCP. You can tweak it to be 100% to your taste, if you like, but some lenses may not give you 100% OOC after you set it up.
        I will post some OOC JPGs for you… Give me a day or so..With Default settings except the +2 Amber setting.
        I understand, this will give how the lens performs OOB (out-of-box)

  1. “I understand, this will give how the lens performs OOB ”

    Thank you very much , yes it will – the thing is, that perhaps you are very good doing PP (I thiink you are), and then we do not get an honest look about the files.

    Of course the very best would be, if we saw both, but then we need exactly and detailed about what you did in PP, and that would perhaps be too much work – and the site would be huge.

  2. Thank you for your kindness, but I have just seen, that my preferred netdealer do not have the camera with the kit-lens anymore = sold all, not in stock anymore, like house only, so I stick to my order – house only and 45mm f/1.8 and Panasonic 20mm f/1.7, so I do not need this anymore, but thanks a lot,

    but I have one question:

    I normally shoot DSLRs (I have Nikon D3x, Nikon D7000 and IR converted Nikon D40), and I am not familiar with this distortion-issue, as I understand is present, but managed automatically in jpgs, but not for the Panasonic lens . -… but I shoot RAW:

    Will that mean I have to change this everytime – perhaps with an automatic removal-setting in Photoshop ?

    1. The Olympus Viewer 2, AfterShot Pro, Capture One 6.4 Professional Version, has Distortion correction in the software, I know Corel AfterShot Pro has both Panny and Oly m4/3 lenses in the data base, because that is the RAW converter I use.

  3. Do you own any converter (fisheye, micro, etc.)? I’ve just bought the E-PL1 with the 14-42mm Mk1 lens and found out most of the aftermarket attachments are made for the newer Mk2. Just want to know if I should/could use any of them.

    1. I do. It is a cheapo Chinese one, it is a fisheye/marcro (.42x), and on the kit lens. (I own the first version of the Olympus 14-42mm, the lens you have) it gives a circular image at 14mm. and by 20mm, it is more an ultra wide w/o the fisheye effect. AF can be funky at times, but works most of the time.

Leave a Reply

