1st day out with my E-M5


It all started on May 7, 2012, where I was expecting the delivery of my new baby, (The Olympus OMD E-M5 Black Body). My UPS guy usually gets in my area by 2:45pm (the time I need to leave to go pick up my Son from school. Well, it was 2:55, and no truck 😦

I called the school, and said I would  be a little late, (no ,more than 15m, regardless) They where fine with that. So, I waited a another 20min, no truck……I called my Apartment Complex Office and let them know I was expecting a box from UPS, and that they will need to sign for it. (which is a standard procedure ). I also left a note on my door for UPS to take it to the office for the signature. I was anxious to say the least. I had paced the sidewalk a few times earlier in the day, (Like an expectant Father) crazy right?  After I picked up my Son, I expected to see a note in my door that he had delivered my package at the Office. There was none. I was getting concerned that it may have been returned to B&H. (The mind can play funny things when you are anxious). It wasn’t till 5pm that my UPS guy arrived, after I asked him what had happened, he said his scanner went down, and he needed a new one delivered to him before he could deliver any more packages..

So here it is, The Grand Opening

B&H packing slip
Olympus OMD E-M5 Black Body
Olympus OMD E-M5 unpacked with my Panasonic G 20mm lens mounted

I just had to put the battery in this beauty see if I could a few moments with my new baby before I had to charge up the battery to full capacity. the indicator showed 2/3rds, but, I only had about 1/2 hour…It was long enough to check out a lot of things, and set up a few options I had been blogging about in this blog.

One thing I noticed, is that the Counter is set reset after each card eraser…  I do NOT like having it reset, so I can keep track of the total shutter clicks on the camera as time marches on.

A day passes…….

After I drop off my Son at school, I head out down a old country road armed with my E-M5, and the Panasonic G 20mm f/1.7 ASPH, and the camera set like this:

  • RAW/4:3/SF
  • Gradation: Auto
  • Sharpness: 0
  • Contrast: 0
  • Photo Mode: Natural (Brush 3)
  • Noise Filter: OFF
  • Auto ISO: 200-1600
  • Aperture Priority
  • 16g card: 95r/w85 (Class 10/UHC-1) VERY FAST!!!! Formats in under 3 seconds !!!!

First impressions:

QUIET, FAST, great ergonomics (a history of building cameras helps), Colors are WOW, Sharpness is WOW, Dynamic Range is WOW.

Any Cons:  I haven’t found any… No duel card slot…. Kidding!!

Here are some first day out photos.  I will be posting more detailed tips and workflows that is not really explained in the manual at all. Things that it is assumed you should know while customizing.

2 thoughts on “1st day out with my E-M5”

  1. I’m sure you know by now that you can set an option to have the file count be a continuous count. That’s one of the first settings I changed on my E-M5 when it arrived.

    1. Yes. I found it after reading the PDF manual a bit. LOL,, I think I took a few dozen before reset it to continuous.

Leave a Reply

